Rules of Hockey


Rules of Hockey

Ice hockey is a popular contact sports game played on an ice surface, usually at an ice hockey arena, where two teams of pro skaters utilize their sticks to skate rapidly to their opponent’s goal, using only the walls as a background for the action. Usually there is little or no contact between the players on the two opposite ends of the rink. Each team has five or ten skaters, and two goalies. In a seven-game season, there is usually one game played every week. This game is played for about three hours and fifteen minutes, but is often shortened if time and game conditions allow.

The referee starts the game by placing the ball into the center circle of the ice, making sure that each team has at least one man on their side of the ice. The first whistle blows, and the players on either side must then skate as fast as possible to be on the right side of the play. If a player is too fast, he can be penalized with a penalty shot, which is a brief stoppage of play. If a player is penalized with a penalty shot, the other team gets a power play, meaning they have five minutes or so to get their team back into the game before the officials declare the game to be underway again.

After a foul or penalty is called, the referee will place a marker on the ice next to the penalty spot where the player was penalized. That marker is also where the player will be assigned a game misconduct. The player will then be forced to skate against the wall and toward the penalty box, where he will be given one more chance to clear the ice with the puck before being put back into play on the attacking team’s side of the ice. It is now the opposing team’s turn to call a penalty. The referee will again stop the game if the play is not completed within five minutes or so and announce a penalty to the linesman and the benches.

Back to top button